Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Hakan Hardenberger

December 18, 2013

Hakan Hardenberger's Christmas Story

Hakan Hardenberger's father was always late getting Christmas presents. One year - on the day before Christmas - he came across a music shop. In that shop he saw a trumpet, which he decided to buy for his 8-year-old son. Thanks to that last-minute present, young Hakan grew up to be one of the great trumpet soloists of our time. On Wednesday's Performance Today, we'll hear Hakan Hardenberger perform Jean Francaix's Sonatine for Trumpet and Piano.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for thirty days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Franz Liszt
    Weihnachtsbaum, R. 71: Abendglocken (Evening Bells)
    Alfred Brendel, piano
    Moussorgsky - Pictures at an Exhibition - Alfred Brendel
    Philips 420156
  • Franz Schubert
    Sonata in a minor, D. 821, "Arpeggione"
    Due Bassi Profundi: Edwin Barker, bass; David Deveau, piano
    Rockport Chamber Music Festival, Shalin Liu Performance Center, Rockport, MA
  • The Piano Puzzler
    This week's contestant is Blane Wamsley from Albuquerque, NM
  • Jean Francaix
    Sonatine for Trumpet and Piano
    Hakan Hardenberger, trumpet; Roland Pontinen, piano
    Virtuoso Trumpet
    Bis 287

hour 2

  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Sonata No. 3 in C Major, BWV 1005: 4. Allegro Assai
    Hilary Hahn, violin
    Hilary Hahn Plays Bach
    Sony Classical 62793
  • Anonymous
    Sonata in G Major, from "Maria Lancellotti's Book of Psalms"
    Komale Akakpo, hackbrett (dulcimer)
    Mazovia Goes Baroque, Witold Lutoslawski Polish Radio Concert Studio, Warsaw
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248 (excerpts): 1. Cantata I: Chorus: Jauchzet, frohlocket, auf preiset die Tage, 8. Cantata I: Aria: Grosser Herr, o starker Konig, 9. Cantata I: Chorale: Ach mein herzliebes Jesulein, 10. Cantata II: Sinfonia, 31. Cantata III: Aria: Schliesse, mein Herze, dies selige Wunder, 36. Cantata III: Chorus reprise: Herrscher des Himmels, erhore das Lallen
    Rias Chamber Chorus; Academy for Ancient Music, Berlin; Hans-Christoph Rademann, director
    Konzerthaus, Berlin, Germany
  • Robert Schumann
    Adagio and Allegro in A flat Major, Op. 70
    Ani Kalayjian, cello; Gilles Vonsattel, piano
    Strings Music Festival, Strings Music Pavilion, Steamboat Springs, CO
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.