Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

June 27, 2013

Performance Today for Thursday, June 27, 2013

On Thursday's Performance Today we'll hear a concert performance that is precise and polished. But it only got this way through professional disagreement. The Orpheus Chamber Orchestra has no conductor. Members of the orchestra lead rehearsals and everyone gets their say. Tune in to hear the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra perform Schubert's Symphony No. 4 at Carnegie Hall.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for thirty days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Edward Elgar
    Elegy for Strings
    Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
  • Bela Bartok
    Romanian Folk Dances - Stick Dance, Sash Dance, In One Spot, Horn Dance, Romanian Polka, Fast Dance
    Uzur Duo - Brad Richter, guitar; Viktor Uzur, cello
    Enid Arts and Humanities Council, Enid, OK
  • Franz Schubert
    Symphony No. 4 in c minor, D. 417, "Tragic"
    Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
    Carnegie Hall, New York City, NY
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
    String Quartet in E flat Major, Op. 74 - 4. Allegro con Variazioni
    Orion String Quartet - Todd Phillips and Daniel Phillips, violins; Steven Tenenbom, viola; Timothy Eddy, cello
    Live from WFMT studios - Chicago, IL

hour 2

  • Antonin Dvorak
    Romantic Pieces, Op. 75, B 150 - II. Allegro maestoso; III. Allegro appassionato
    Gil Shaham, violin; Orli Shaham, piano
  • Edvard Grieg
    Norwegian Dances, Op. 35 - 1. Allegro marcato, 2. Allegretto tranquillo e grazioso, 3. Allegro moderato alla marcia in G, 4. Allegro molto in D
    Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra; Paavo Jarvi, conductor
    Grand Hall, Old Opera, Frankfurt, Germany
  • PT Young-Artist-in-Residence
    Xiang Yu, violin
  • Johannes Brahms
    Sonata No. 3 - III. Un poco presto e con sentimento, IV. Presto agitato
    Xiang Yu, violin; Evan Wong, piano
    Maud Moon Weyerhaeuser Studio. St. Paul, MN
  • Antonin Dvorak
    Romance in f minor, Op. 11
    Bogdan Zvoristeanu, violin; Orchestre de la Suisse Romande; Neeme Jarvi, conductor
    Victoria Hall, Geneva
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.