Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
piano hands

June 6, 2013

Performance Today for Thursday, June 6, 2013

The 2013 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition is heading down the homestretch. We began two weeks ago with 30 pianists. Now we are down to six finalists. The judges will pick a winner Sunday night. For the first time since 1997, there is an American among the finalists: Sean Chen. On Thursday's Performance Today, we'll hear a highlight from the first round of the competition performed by the 24 year-old pianist from Los Angeles.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for thirty days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Dimitri Shostakovich
    Preludes and Fugues Op. 87 (arr. Eduard Wesly) - Fugue from No. 4 in E Minor
    Calefax Reed Ensemble
  • Johannes Brahms
    Variations on an Original Theme, Op. 21, No. 1.
    Sean Chen, piano
    Bass Hall, Fort Worth, Texas - Van Cliburn International Piano Competition 2013
  • Leos Janacek
    On the Overgrown Path, Book I, JW VIII/17 (1901-1908) - No. 7 Good Night, No. 10. The Barn Owl has not Flown Away
    Calefax Reed Quintet; Geert Bierling, harmonium
    De Doelen, Rotterdam, Netherlands
  • Philippe Gaubert
    Les Chants de la Mer
    Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra; JoAnn Falletta, conductor
    Kleinhans Music Hall, Buffalo, NY

hour 2

  • Gustav Mahler
    Blumine (Bouquet of Flowers), symphonic movement
    New York Philharmonic ; Alan Gilbert, conductor
    Avery Fisher Hall, Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, New York, NY
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    WTC, Book 1: Prelude and Fugue No. 20
    Till Fellner, piano
  • Dmitri Shostakovich
    24 Preludes & Fugues, Op. 87 - Prelude & Fugue No. 5 in D Major, Prelude & Fugue No. 7 in A Major
    Alexander Melnikov, piano
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Violin Concerto in g minor, BWV 1056b
    Arco Ensemble; Elmar Oliveira, violin/conductor
    Eugene Shelley Enlow Recital Hall, Kean University, Union, NJ
  • Tchaikovsky
    The Sleeping Beauty - Waltz
    New York Philharmonic' Kurt Masur, conductor
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Concerto for Two Violins in d minor, BWV 1043
    Arco Ensemble; Elmar Oliveira, violin/conductor; Eva Gruesser, violin
    Eugene Shelley Enlow Recital Hall, Kean University, Union, NJ
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.