Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Tokyo String Quartet

May 7, 2013

Performance Today for Tuesday, May 7, 2013

The Budapest String Quartet was founded, logically, in the city of Budapest. The Cleveland Quartet made their home in, you guessed it, Cleveland, Ohio. But the Tokyo Quartet has never been based in Tokyo. Four bright young music students from Tokyo each moved to the United States to study, met in New York City and in 1969 formed a string quartet. The Tokyo Quartet has been a major force in the world of classical music for 44 years, but this season is their last. On Tuesday's Performance Today we'll hear a performance by the Tokyo Quartet as they celebrate their farewell tour.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for seven days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Zoltan Kodaly
    Budapest Clarinet Quintet
  • Antonin Dvorak
    Bagatelles Op. 47
    Erin Keefe, violin; Arnaud Sussman, violin; Andres Diaz, cello; Jeremy Denk, piano
    Bass Performance Hall, Fort Worth, TX
  • Dario Castello
    Sonata quarta
    Chatham Baroque
    Synod Hall, St. Paul Cathedral, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Zoltan Kodaly
    Dances of Galanta
    Nashville Symphony; Gilbert Varga, conductor
    Schermerhorn Symphony Center, Nashville, TN
  • Zoltan Kodaly
    Esti Dal
    First Lutheran Church, Columbia Heights, MN

hour 2

  • Henry Purcell
    Sonata for Trumpet, Strings and Continuo
    Helmut Wobisch, trumpet; Zagreb Soloists; Antonio Janigro, conductor
  • Johann Strauss, Jr.
    Kuss-Walzer, Op. 400
    Vienna Philharmonic; Franz Welser-Most, conductor
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    String Quartet in d minor, K. 421 - I. Allegro moderato
    Tokyo String Quartet
    Battell Chapel, Yale School of Music, New Haven, CT
  • Sergei Prokofiev
    Symphony No. 1 in D major, Op. 25 "Classical" - I. Allegro
    London Symphony Orchestra; Valery Gergiev, conductor
  • Sergei Prokofiev
    Cello Sonata in C Major, Op. 119
    Hai-Ye Ni, Cello; Cecile Licad, piano
    Kosciuszko Foundation, New York, NY
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.