Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Olga Kern

March 1, 2013

Olga Kern Plays Shostakovich

When he was a teenager in the early 1920s, Dmitri Shostakovich played piano in movie theaters for silent films. A few years later, he wrote a Piano Concerto that in places almost sounds like music he might have riffed for a Charlie Chaplin comedy. It's the rollicking, jazz-inflected Piano Concerto No. 1 by Shostakovich. We'll hear a powerhouse performance by Olga Kern (pictured) and the Nashville Symphony.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for seven days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Heinrich Franz von Biber
    Sonata No. 2 in D
    The Seattle Baroque Orchestra, Ingrid Matthews, director
  • Sergei Rachmaninoff
    Prelude in C-sharp Minor, Op. 3
    Olga Kern, piano
    Bass Hall, Fort Worth, Texas
  • Dmitri Shostakovich
    Concerto No. 1 in C Minor for Piano, Trumpet, and Strings, Op. 35
    Olga Kern, piano, Jeffrey Bailey, trumpet, the Nashville Symphony, Giancarlo Guerrero, conductor
    Schermerhorn Symphony Center, Nashville
  • Moritz Moszkowski
    Etincelles (Sparks), Op. 36 No. 6
    Olga Kern, piano
    Bass Hall, Fort Worth, Texas
  • Heinrich Franz von Biber
    Two movements from Harmonia Artificioso, Partita V
    Geoff Nuttall and Livia Sohn, violins, Christopher Costanza, cello, Pedja Muzijevic, harpsichord
    Spoleto Festival USA, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Josef Suk
    Meditation on St. Wenceslas, Op. 35a
    James Ehnes and Amy Schwartz Moretti, violins, Richard O'Neill, viola, Robert deMaine, cello
    Seattle Chamber Music Society Winter Festival, Seattle

hour 2

  • Zoltan Kodaly
    First movement from Cello Sonata, Op. 8
    Coleman Itzkoff, cello
    Fitzgerald Theater, St. Paul
  • PT Young Artist-in-Residence
    Coleman Itzkoff, cello
  • Mauro Giuliani
    Excerpt from Three Polynesia Concertanti, Op. 137
    Jason Vieaux and Connie Sheu, guitars
    92nd Street Y, New York City
  • Giovanni Girolamo Kapsberger
    Libro I d'Intavolatura di Lauto, Toccata 6
    Hopkinson Smith, lute
    92nd Street Y, New York City
  • Modest Mussorgsky
    The Old Castle, from Pictures at an Exhibition
    Branford Marsalis, soprano saxophone, the English Chamber Orchestra
  • Jacob ter Veldhuis
    Tallahatchie Concerto
    Branford Marsalis, alto saxophone, the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Jacques Lacombe, conductor
    Cincinnati Music Hall, Cincinnati
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.