Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Aaron Copland

September 28, 2012

Appalachian Spring

By any measure, Appalachian Spring by Aaron Copland is one of the great American works of art. But in 1944, Copland was paid 500 dollars for writing it. Not much for a future classic. But looking back, Copland said, "they needn't have worried about the amount. Five hundred dollars seemed like a lot to me in those days." On Friday's Performance Today, we'll hear the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra play 500 dollars worth of music by Aaron Copland.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for thirty days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Maurice Ravel
    Noble and Sentimental Waltz No. 7
    Vladimir Spivakov, violin, Sergei Bezrodny, piano
  • Francisco Mignone
    Concertino for Clarinet and Chamber Orchestra
    Sergio Burgani, clarinet, the Sao Paulo Symphony Orchestra, Marin Alsop, conductor
    Concert Hall, Sao Paulo, Brazil
  • Maurice Ravel
    Introduction and Allegro
    Sivan Magen, harp, Joshua Smith, flute, Moran Katz, clarinet, Joseph Lin and Benjamin Beilman, violins, Luke Fleming, viola, Marie-Elisabeth Hecker, cello
    Marlboro Music Festival, Marlboro, Vermont
  • Franz Schubert
    Adagio in E flat, D. 897
    Mitsuko Uchida, piano, David McCarroll, violin, Bronwyn Banerdt, cello
    Marlboro Music Festival, Marlboro, Vermont
  • Pierre Passereau
    Il est Bel et Bon
    Paul O'Dette, lute
    Boston Early Music Festival
  • Marco dall'Aquila
    Ricercar No. 17 and Ricercar No. 6
    Paul O'Dette, lute
    Boston Early Music Festival

hour 2

  • Arvo Part
    Fur Alina
    Bruce Levingston, piano
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    The Queen of the Night Aria, from the Magic Flute, K. 620
    Francois Leleux, oboe and conductor, the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra
    Berwaldhallen, Stockholm, Sweden
  • William Bolcom
    New York Lights
    Bruce Levingston, piano
  • Aaron Copland
    Appalachian Spring Suite
    The Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
    Carnegie Hall, New York City
  • Jessie Montgomery
    Strum, for String Quartet
    The Catalyst Quartet
    Sphinx Competition, Ann Arbor, Michigan
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.