Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

July 20, 2012

No Conductors Allowed

New York City's Orpheus Chamber Orchestra is militant about one thing. They have never, will never use a conductor. That philosophy undoubtedly makes for more sensitive, attentive playing, as musicians are forced to listen to and watch each other more closely. It also presents the players with unique challenges. Case in point: Aaron Copland's ballet "Appalachian Spring," with its delicate, transparent textures and lightning-fast tempo changes. The Orpheus Chamber Orchestra rises to the challenge, delivering a terrific performance of this American masterpiece.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for seven days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Sergei Prokofiev
    The Dance of the Knights, from Romeo and Juliet
    The San Francisco Symphony, Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
    Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67
    The San Francisco Symphony, Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor
    Davies Symphony Hall, San Francisco
  • William Lawes
    Dances from Royall Consort No. 2 in D Minor
    The Phantasm Viol Consort, Laurence Dreyfus, director and viol
    Wigmore Hall, London, England
  • Federico Mompou
    Jeunes Filles au Jardin (Girls in the Garden), from Childhood Scenes
    Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano
    Victoria Hall, Geneva, Switzerland
  • Regino and Eduardo Sainz de la Maza
    Canco del Lladre
    Robert Belinic, guitar
    Ramsey Concert Hall, Athens, Georgia
  • Traditional Brazilian
    Nao me Toques (Don't Touch me)
    Mike Marshall and Caterina Lichtenberg, mandolins
    Herbst Theatre, San Francisco

hour 2

  • Arvo Part
    Fur Alina
    Bruce Levingston, piano
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    The Queen of the Night Aria, from the Magic Flute, K. 620
    Francois Leleux, oboe and conductor, the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra
    Berwaldhallen, Stockholm, Sweden
  • William Bolcom
    New York Lights
    Bruce Levingston, piano
  • Aaron Copland
    Appalachian Spring Suite
    The Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
    Carnegie Hall, New York City
  • Jessie Montgomery
    The Catalyst Quartet
    Sphinx Competition, Ann Arbor, Michigan
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.