Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Wooden door

July 11, 2012

The Day the Americans Came Knocking

Throughout history, conquering armies have been known to do some nasty, brutish things to the people they've vanquished. We'll never know if that worry was on Richard Strauss' mind when a bunch of American soldiers showed up at his door in Germany at the end of World War II. But the Americans weren't interested in murder or mayhem that day in 1945. Instead, one of the soldiers asked Strauss to write an oboe concerto for him. In today's show, German oboist Albrecht Mayer plays the Strauss Oboe Concerto, in concert in New York City.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for seven days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Richard Strauss
    Entrance and Dance of the Tailors, from Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme
    The Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Ich steh mit einem Fuss im Grabe (I Stand with one Foot in the Grave), BWV 156
    Albrecht Mayer, oboe, the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
    Carnegie Hall, New York City
  • Richard Strauss
    Oboe Concerto in D
    Albrecht Mayer, oboe, the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
    Carnegie Hall, New York City
  • The Piano Puzzler
    This week's contestant is Matthew Gurewitsch from Kihei, Hawaii
  • Francois Couperin
    L'Et Caetera Ou Menuets, from Concerto No. 9 (Portrait of Love)
    Peter Sykes, harpsichord, Carol Ou, cello, Fenwick Smith, flute
    Jordan Hall, Boston
  • Jacob van Eyck
    The English Nightingale, from the Flute's Garden of Delights
    Michala Petri, recorder
    Copenhagen Concert Hall, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Luys Milan
    Fantasia No. 16 for Guitar
    Pepe Romero, guitar
    92nd Street Y, New York City

hour 2

  • Carl Nielsen
    Second movement from Symphony No. 2
    The San Francisco Symphony, Herbert Blomstedt, conductor
  • Karol Szymanowski
    Marc-Andre Hamelin, piano
    Philharmonie, Berlin, Germany
  • Anonymous (Arranged by Milos Valent)
    Chorea Hungarica, from Pestry Zbornik (Tabulatura Miscellanea)
    Solamente Naturali
    Boston Early Music Festival, Boston
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Symphony No. 41 in C, K. 551 (Jupiter)
    The San Francisco Symphony, Jeffrey Kahane, conductor
    Davies Symphony Hall, San Francisco
  • Alexander Scriabin
    Poeme No. 1 in F-sharp, Op. 32
    Yuja Wang, piano
    Bass Performance Hall, Fort Worth, Texas
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.