Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Robert Levin

June 8, 2012

Risk Nothing, Achieve Nothing

Pianist Robert Levin believes in taking risks during performances. Not for his own glorification, but to deepen the level of communication between artist and audience. And for the simple fact that, in his view, to risk nothing is to achieve nothing. In today's show, Robert Levin takes risks, improvising his own cadenzas in a Mozart piano concerto, with the Nashville Symphony. Nicholas McGegan conducts.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for thirty days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Prelude from English Suite No. 5 in E Minor, BWV 810
    Robert Levin, piano
  • Georges Bizet
    Overture to Carmen
    The Unhasu Orchestra and Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra, Myung-Whun Chung, conductor
    Salle Pleyel, Paris, France
  • Heinrich Ignaz.Franz von Biber
    Sonata IX in B-flat for Strings and Continuo
    The Masques Ensemble
    Our Lady of Good Help Chapel, Montreal, Quebec
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Piano Concerto No. 22 in E-flat, K. 482
    Robert Levin, piano, the Nashville Symphony, Nicholas McGegan, conductor
    Schermerhorn Symphony Center, Nashville

hour 2

  • Camille Saint-Saens
    Cello Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 33
    Antonio Meneses, cello, the French National Orchestra, Daniele Gatti, conductor
    Theatre des Champs-Elysees, Paris, France
  • Henry Purcell
    Fantasia No. 11 in G, Z. 742
    The Wildcat Viols
    Ojai Music Festival, Ojai, California
  • Arnold Schoenberg
    Colors, from Five pieces for Orchestra, Op. 16
    Ensemble Modern, George Benjamin, conductor
    Ojai Music Festival, Ojai, California
  • John Mackey
    Hymn to a Blue Hour
    The Dallas Wind Symphony, Jerry Junkin, conductor
    Meyerson Symphony Center, Dallas
  • Francis Poulenc
    Three Miniatures
    The French National Orchestra, Charles Dutoit, conductor
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Courante from solo Cello Suite No. 1 in G, BWV 1007
    Antonio Meneses, cello
    Theatre des Champs-Elysees, Paris, France
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.