Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage

October 17, 2011

Franz Liszt's 200th

How to sum up Franz Liszt in just a few words? A musician of such immense skill that people whispered he was in league with the devil. A savvy businessman who encouraged those rumors, knowing that there's no such thing as bad press. A reformed rock star with a wild youth and an intensely spiritual old age. We'll hear all sides of Franz Liszt this week, in celebration of his 200th birthday.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for seven days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Johannes Brahms
    Intermezzo in A Minor and Intermezzo in F Minor, Op. 118
    Lang Lang, piano
  • Franz Liszt
    Les Preludes, S. 637, R. 359
    The Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Valery Gergiev, conductor
    Schonbrunn Palace, Vienna, Austria
  • Claudio Monteverdi
    Pur ti Miro, from the Coronation of Poppea
    Maxine Eilander, baroque harp, Stephen Stubbs, lute
    Boston Early Music Festival, Boston
  • Giovanni Paolo Cima
    Trio Sonata from Concerti Ecclesiastici
    Boston Early Music Festival, Boston
  • Franz Liszt
    Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-flat, S. 124
    Lang Lang, piano, the San Francisco Symphony, Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor
    Davies Symphony Hall, San Francisco

hour 2

  • Franz Liszt
    Orpheus, from Symphonic Poems
    The Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, Kurt Masur, conductor
  • George Frideric Handel
    Suite No. 3 from Water Music, HWV 350
    REBEL Ensemble
    International Handel Festival, Gottingen, Germany
  • Franz Liszt
    Au lac de Wallenstadt, from Years of Pilgrimage, First Year: Switzerland, S. 160
    Till Fellner, piano
    Grand Studio, Hanover, Germany
  • Franz Liszt
    Canzonetta del Salvator Rosa, from Years of Pilgrimage, Second Year: Italy, S. 161
    Till Fellner, piano
    Wigmore Hall, London, England
  • George Frideric Handel
    Two movements from Concerto Grosso in F, Op. 3, No. 4
    The Academy of Ancient Music, Richard Egarr, conductor
  • Franz Liszt
    La Notte, from Three Funeral Odes, S. 699, R. 664
    The Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, Marc Andreae, conductor
    Gewandhaus, Leipzig, Germany
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.