Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Michael Tilson Thomas

June 28, 2011

MTT and San Francisco

Mozart hadn't quite arrived when he wrote his Symphony Number 34. He was still living in his home town of Salzburg, where he felt constrained and unappreciated. Franz Schubert's 9th Symphony was grander and more complex than anything he had written so far. So grand that they call it his Great Symphony now. So complex that no one could play it. In today's show, these two great symphonies, by frustrated young composers. From concerts by Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for seven days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    First movement from Piano Sonata in C, K. 545
    Mitsuko Uchida, piano
  • Niccolo Paganini
    Introduction and Variations on Dal Tuo Stellato Soglio, Op. 24, MS 23 (Moses Fantasy)
    Alisa Weilerstein, cello, Inon Barnatan, piano
    Spoleto Festival USA, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Darius Milhaud
    Suite for Violin, Clarinet and Piano from the Traveler without Baggage, Op. 157b
    Erin Keefe, violin, Frank Kowalsky, clarinet, Adam Neiman, piano
    Seattle Chamber Music Society Summer Festival, Seattle
  • Darius Milhaud
    Excerpt from La Cheminee du Roi Rene, Op. 205
    Festival Musicians
    International Festival-Institute at Round Top, Round Top, Texas
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Symphony No. 34 in C, K. 338
    The San Francisco Symphony, Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor
    Davies Symphony Hall, San Francisco

hour 2

  • Franz Schubert
    Allegretto in C (fragment), D. 346
    Leif Ove Andsnes, piano
  • Christopher Kirsch
    Don Quixote Suite
    Quartetto Colori
    Wartburg Castle, Eisenach, Germany
  • Franz Schubert
    Three movements from Symphony No. 9 in C, D. 944 (The Great)
    The San Francisco Symphony, Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor
    Davies Symphony Hall, San Francisco
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Gavotte from Orchestral Suite No. 4 in D, BWV 1069
    Concerto Copenhagen, Alfredo Bernardini, conductor
    Garrison Church, Copenhagen, Denmark
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.