Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Leon Fleisher

March 23, 2011

Coming Back after Illness and Injury

In today's show, three compelling stories of musicians returning to performing after illness or injury. We'll hear from the young violinist Augustin Hadelich, severely burned in a fire when he was a teenager. Leon Fleisher spent decades as a left-hand only pianist, after losing the use of his right hand. After intensive therapy, he's now playing with both hands. And cellist Truls Mork is back after a mysterious illness sidelined him for a year and a half.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for seven days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Aaron Copland
    Prelude for Piano Trio
    Michael Boriskin, piano, Nicholas Kitchen, violin, Wilhelmina Smith, cello
  • Niccolo Paganini
    Caprice No. 22 in F for Solo Violin, Op. 1
    Augustin Hadelich, violin
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Excerpts from Capriccio in B-flat, BWV 992 (On the Departure of a Brother)
    Leon Fleisher, piano
  • Benjamin Britten
    First movement from Cello Suite No. 2, Op. 80
    Truls Mork, cello
    Victoria Hall, Geneva, Switzerland
  • The Piano Puzzler
    This week's contestants are Owen and Annette Hungerford from Columbus, Indiana
  • Aaron Copland
    Music for the Theatre
    The Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, Jeffrey Kahane, conductor
    Royce Hall, Los Angeles

hour 2

  • Jan Dismas Zelenka
    Hypochondria, ZWV 187
    Tempesta di Mare
    Presbyterian Church of Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia
  • Marc-Antoine Charpentier
    Incidental Music for the Imaginary Invalid
    Les Arts Florissants, William Christie, conductor
  • Zoltan Kodaly
    Summer Evening
    The River Oaks Chamber Orchestra, Robert Moody, conductor
    The Church of St. John the Divine, Houston
  • Stanford E. Scriven
    This is the Day
    The St. Olaf College Choir, Anton Armstrong, director
    Boe Memorial Chapel, Northfield, Minnesota
  • Zoltan Kodaly
    First movement from Serenade for Two Violins and Viola, Op. 12
    Vilmos Tatrai and Istvan Varkonyi, violins, Gyorgy Konrad, viola
  • Claude Debussy
    Three Etudes
    The Orchestra of the Suisse Romande, Susanna Malkki, conductor
    Victoria Hall, Geneva, Switzerland
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.