Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Maurice Ravel

January 24, 2011

Daphnis and Chloe

The story of Daphnis and Chloe goes back about 2000 years. He's a young goatherd, she's a young shepherdess. They know nothing about love, but they manage to learn a thing or two along the way. In 1912, Maurice Ravel wrote a ballet, setting this coming-of-age love story to music that's astonishing, ravishing. Nowadays, you're more likely to hear Daphnis and Chloe in a concert hall than at the ballet. In today's show, we'll hear a performance by the Radio France Philharmonic.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for seven days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Igor Stravinsky
    Suite No. 1 for Small Orchestra
    The Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Divertimento in D for Strings, K. 136
    The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Rachel Podger, conductor
    International Chamber Orchestra Festival, St. Paul
  • Igor Stravinsky
    Octet for Wind Instruments
    The Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
    Carnegie Hall, New York City
  • Max Bruch
    Romance in F for Viola and Orchestra, Op. 85
    Yuri Bashmet, viola and conductor, the Moscow Soloists Chamber Ensemble
    Theatre Hall, Ruse, Bulgaria
  • Anonymous
    Theme and Variations on Happy Birthday
    The Moscow Soloists Chamber Ensemble, Yuri Bashmet, conductor
    Theatre Hall, Ruse, Bulgaria

hour 2

  • Maurice Ravel
    Fourth movement from String Quartet in F
    The Keller Quartet
  • Claude Debussy
    Children's Corner
    Dang Thai Son, piano
    International Chopin Festival, Duszniki Zdroj, Poland
  • Maurice Ravel
    Suites No. 1 and 2 from Daphnis and Chloe
    The Radio France Philharmonic, Myung-Whun Chung, conductor
    Salle Pleyel, Paris, France
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.