Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Franz Joseph Haydn

December 2, 2010

Norrington and the Orchestra of St. Luke's

Conductor Roger Norrington remembers one early-morning rehearsal with New York's Orchestra of St. Luke's. Given the hour, he had encouraged the musicians to take it easy. Instead, Norrington says, they "went off like maniacs. I just had to keep up." In today's show, Roger Norrington and the "maniacs" of the OSL, with their high-powered work ethic, perform Haydn's Symphony Number 99 at Carnegie Hall.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for seven days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Third movement from Symphony No. 41 in C, K. 551 (Jupiter)
    The Orchestra of St. Luke's, Donald Runnicles, conductor
  • Joseph Haydn
    Symphony No. 99 in E-flat, Hob. I/99 (London)
    The Orchestra of St. Luke's, Roger Norrington, conductor
    Carnegie Hall, New York City
  • Heitor Villa-Lobos
    Preludio (Modinha), from Bachianas Brasileiras No. 1, A. 246
    The Beauvais Cello Octet
    Concert Hall, Sofia, Bulgaria
  • Ernesto Nazareth
    Vem ca Branquinha (Come Here, Little Girl)
    Joel Fan, piano
  • Traditional (Arranged by Steve Barnett)
    Al Hanisim (For the Miracles)
    The Dale Warland Singers, Jerry Rubino, conductor
    Wooddale Church, Eden Prairie, Minnesota
  • Traditional (Arranged by Abraham Binder)
    Candle Lighting Blessings
    David Rappaport, soloist, the Zamir Chorale of Boston, Joshua Jacobson, conductor

hour 2

  • Robert Schumann
    Symphonic Etude No. 9, Variations I and II
    Pianist Rudolf Buchbinder
    Reitschule des Schlosses, Grafenegg, Austria
  • William Walton
    Overture to "Portsmouth Point"
    The BBC Symphony Orchestra with conductor Jiri Belohlavek
    Royal Albert Hall, London
  • Franz Schubert
    Impromptu, Op. 90, No. 4
    Pianist Rudolf Buchbinder
    Maud Moon Weyerhaeuser Music Studio, St. Paul
  • Johann Strauss
    "Soiree de Vienne"
    Pianist Rudolf Buchbinder
    Maud Moon Weyerhaeuser Music Studio, St. Paul
  • Johannes Brahms
    First movement from Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat, Op. 83
    Pianist Rudolf Buchbinder with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and conductor Nikolaus Harnoncourt
    The Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.