Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Piano Keys

September 7, 2010

Three Great Pianists in Concert

Pianist Mitsuko Uchida joins PT host Fred Child to talk about Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 24. (She says "It is very dark, incredibly tragic," but the lilt in her voice conveys the beauty of that darkness.) And we'll hear her concert performance with the Cleveland Orchestra. Plus two concerts in Vienna: Lang Lang plays Chopin's "Aeolian Harp" Etude in the sumptuous acoustics of the Golden Hall at the Musikverein, and Yefim Bronfman plays the Paganini Etude No. 2 by Franz Liszt, at the outdoor gardens of Schonbrunn Palace.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for thirty days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • John Adams
    Short Ride in a Fast Machine
    The Hamburg Philharmonic Orchestra, Ingo Metzmacher, conductor
  • Robert Schumann
    In the Marvelous Month of May
    Peter Friis Johansson, piano
    Berwaldhallen, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Benjamin Britten
    Third movement from Cello Suite No. 1, Op. 72
    Julian Lloyd Webber, cello
    Arts Center, Seoul, South Korea
  • Maurice Ravel
    Lullaby on the name of Gabriel Faure
    James Ehnes, violin, Andrew Armstrong, piano
    Aspen Music Festival, Aspen, Colorado
  • Gustav Mahler
    Three movements from Symphony No. 7
    The German Symphony Orchestra, Ingo Metzmacher, conductor
    The BBC Proms, London, England

hour 2

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Piano Concerto No. 24 in C Minor, K. 491
    Mitsuko Uchida, piano and conductor, the Cleveland Orchestra
    Severance Hall, Cleveland
  • Franz Liszt
    Etude No. 2 in E, from Grandes Etudes de Paganini, S. 141
    Yefim Bronfman, piano
    Schonbrunn Palace, Vienna, Austria
  • Frederic Chopin
    Etude No. 13 in A-flat, Op. 25, No. 1 (Harp Study)
    Lang Lang, piano
    Musikverein, Vienna, Austria
  • Claude Debussy
    Two Etudes for Piano
    Mitsuko Uchida, piano
  • Salamone Rossi
    Sonata No. 4 Sopra l'aria dei Ruggiero
    Arnaud Sussmann and Erin Keefe, violins, Laurence Lesser, cello, Kenneth Cooper, harpsichord
    Music@Menlo, Palo Alto, California
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.