Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
The Brandenburg Gate

November 10, 2009

Berlin Celebrates

The fall of the Berlin Wall was 20 years ago yesterday, and there was a big concert in Berlin last night, to cap a day full of celebration. Two orchestras, one from the former East Berlin, one from West, joined forces in a joyful concert, featuring the music of Schubert, Beethoven, and Mendelssohn. We'll bring you highlights from last night's big event.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for thirty days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Arnold Schoenberg
    Adagio from Suite for String Orchestra in G
    The Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra with conductor John Mauceri
  • Richard Wagner
    Prelude to Act III of "Die Meistersinger"
    The Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra with conductor Ingo Metzmacher and the German Symphony Orchestra of Berlin with conductor Gerd Albrecht
    Berlin Cathedral, Berlin, Germany
  • Gabriel Faure
    "After a Dream"
    Cellist Alban Gerhardt and pianist Steven Osborne
    Wigmore Hall, London, England
  • Felix Mendelssohn
    Excerpts from Symphony No. 2 ("Hymn of Praise")
    The Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra and Rias Kammerchor with conductor Ingo Metzmacher
    Berlin Cathedral, Berlin, Germany
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
    Andante Cantabile from Symphony No. 9
    The Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra with conductor Marek Janowsky
    Berlin Cathedral, Berlin, Germany
  • Franz Schubert
    Gloria from Mass in E-flat, D. 950
    The Berlin Radio Chorus with conductor Simon Halsey
    Berlin Cathedral, Berlin, Germany

hour 2

  • Johann Strauss, Jr.
    Annen Polka, Op. 117
    The Vienna Philharmonic with conductor Daniel Barenboim
  • Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
    Cello Concerto in A, Wq 172
    Cellist and conductor Paul Watkins with the Norwegian Radio Orchestra
    Radio Concert Hall, Oslo, Norway
  • Igor Stravinsky
    Excerpts from "Petrushka"
    Pianist Yuja Wang
    The Frederic Chopin Society, Saint Paul
  • Joseph Haydn
    Finale from Symphony No. 45 in F-sharp Minor
    The Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra with conductor Daniel Barenboim
    Musikverein, Vienna, Austria
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.