Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Nicholas Maw

July 10, 2009

Remembering Nicholas Maw

Bruce Adolphe is the creator of the PT Piano Puzzler...and one of his dear friends was composer Nicholas Maw. Maw died this spring at age 73. Bruce Adolphe has a personal remembrance, and some thoughts on why so many people find Maw's music so compelling.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for seven days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Mozart
    Laudate Dominum
    Joshua Bell, violin; Orchestra of St. Luke's; Michael Stern, cond.
  • Ernst von Dohnanyi
    From the Concert Etudes, Op. 28: No. 6 in f-minor
    Roberto Plano, piano
    Wellspring Theater, Kalamazoo, MI
  • Nicolas Chedeville
    Les Plaisirs de l'Ete
    Ensemble 1700, Dorothee Oberlinger, director & recorder; Monica Waisman, violin; Andre Henrich, theorbo/baroque guitar; Alexander Puliaev, harpsichord
    Mont-Cenis Academy, Herne, Germany
  • Jean-Philippe Rameau
    L'Orchestre des Plaisirs (Part III)
    Boston Early Music Festival Orchestra; Robert Mealy, leader; Paule O'Dette and Stephen Stubbs, directors
    New England Conservatory's Jordan Hall, Boston, MA
  • Nicholas Maw
    Concerto for Violin and Orchestra --III. Romanza: Lento e calmo
    Joshua Bell, violin; London Philharmonic Orchestra; Sir Roger Norrington, conductor

hour 2

  • David Lang
    Little Match Girl Cont (Part 3)...XIV. In the dawn of morning; XV. We sit and cry
    Theatre of Voices; Paul Hillier, Director
  • David Lang
    Little Match Girl Cont (Part 2).. V. Penance and remorse; VI. Lights were shining; IX. Have mercy, my God;
    Theatre of Voices; Paul Hillier, Director
  • David Lang
    from The Little Match Girl Passion (Part 1): I. Come, daughter; II. It was terribly cold;
    Theatre of Voices; Paul Hillier, Director
  • J.S. Bach (arr. W.A. Mozart)
    Fugue, from the Well-Tempered Clavier
    Emerson String Quartet
    Alamo Heights United Methodist Church
  • Mendelssohn
    Symphony No. 3 in a minor, Op. 56 "Scottish": Vivace non troppo
    Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra; Kurt Masur, cond.
  • Anton Bruckner
    Symphony No. 4 in Eb ("Romantic"): I. Bewegt, nicht zu schnell
    Cleveland Orchestra; Kurt Masur, conductor
    Severance Hall, Cleveland, OH
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.