Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Richard Wagner

February 10, 2009

The Twilight of the Gods

If you sat through Richard Wagner's four-opera "Ring" cycle start to finish, it would take close to a day. It's tough to break that down into bite-sized portions, but there are a few "Ring" excerpts that make their way into the concert hall. On today's show, we'll hear orchestral excerpts from the final opera in the cycle, "Gotterdammerung," or "The Twilight of the Gods," featuring Simon Rattle and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for thirty days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Fugue No. 4 in C-sharp Minor, BWV 849
    Pianist Helene Grimaud
  • Ron Ford
    The Frick Collection, New York City
  • Joseph Guy Ropartz
    Prelude, Marine, and Chanson for Flute, Harp, and Strings
    Flutist Gretchen Pusch, harpist Hannah Lash, violinist Jorja Fleezanis, violist Zoltan Toth, and cellist Emilio Colon
    Round Top Festival, Round Top, Texas
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Prelude and Fugue No. 9 in E, BWV 878, Prelude in E, BWV 1006, and Prelude, BWV 872
    Pianist Helene Grimaud
  • Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
    "The Calendar Prince," from "Scheherazade"
    The Buffalo Philharmonic with violinist Michael Ludwig and conductor JoAnn Falletta
    Kleinhans Music Hall, Buffalo, New York

hour 2

  • Richard Wagner
    "Siegfried's Rhine Journey" and "Siegfried's Funeral Music," from "Gotterdammerung"
    The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic with conductor Simon Rattle
    Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool, England
  • Antonio Vivaldi
    Concerto in D for Two Oboes, Two Violins, and Bassoon, RV 564a
    Members of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment with conductor Rachel Podger
    International Chamber Orchestra Festival, Minneapolis
  • Paul Simon
    "April Come She Will"
    The King's Singers
  • Traditional
    "The Gift to be Simple"
    The King's Singers
  • Igor Stravinsky
    Third Movement from "Symphony of Psalms"
    The Berlin Philharmonic and Berlin Radio Choir with conductor Simon Rattle
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.