Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Disney Concert Hall

August 7, 2008

Beethoven's eighth in l.a.

Amid the symphonies around it in Beethoven's canon, his Eighth may look small and insubstantial. But the composer himself was very fond of it. We'll go to Los Angeles to hear Esa-Pekka Salonen lead the L.A. Philharmonic in concert at Walt Disney Concert Hall.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for seven days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Edouard Lalo
    Second movement from "Symphonie Espagnole" in D Minor, Op. 21
    Violinist Pinchas Zukerman with the Los Angeles Philharmonic and conductor Zubin Mehta
  • Esa-Pekka Salonen
    "Laughing Unlearned"
    Violinist Leila Josefowicz
    Walt Disney Concert Hall, Los Angeles
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    "Laughing and Shouting for Joy" from Cantata No. 15
    The Spivey Hall Children's Choir with conductor Martha Shaw
    Spivey Hall, Morrow, Georgia
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
    Symphony No. 8 in F, Op. 93
    The Los Angeles Philharmonic with conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen
    Walt Disney Concert Hall, Los Angeles
  • Alessandro Marcello
    Oboe Concerto in C Minor
    Oboist Kathryn Greenbank with violinists Adam Barnett-Hart and Wu Jie, violist Pierre Lapointe, cellist Andrew Janss and bassist DaXun Zhang
    Music@Menlo Festival, Palo Alto, California

hour 2

  • Chou Wen-Chung
    "Leggeriezza" from "Clouds"
    The Ying Quartet
    Harris Concert Hall, Aspen, Colorado
  • Felix Mendelssohn
    First movement from Viola Quintet in B-flat, Op. 87
    The Ying Quartet with violist Sabina Thatcher
    Harris Concert Hall, Aspen, Colorado
  • Mariano Valverde
    Suite of Works for Marimba
    Matthew McClung, Bobby Fajardo, Douglas Soriano and Adam Pin, marimbas
    Hot Springs Music Festival, Hot Springs, Arkansas
  • Felix Mendelssohn
    Third movement from Octet in E-flat, Op. 20
    The Cleveland Quartet and the Meliora Quartet
  • Ferruccio Busoni
    Four movements from "Turandot" Symphonic Suite, Op. 41
    The National Orchestra of Belgium with conductor Roberto Minczuk
    Palais des Beaux-Arts, Brussels, Belgium
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.