Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Piano Keys

June 26, 2008

Two flamboyant and fiery pianists

They've both been accused of being visually distracting with their onstage mannerisms, but they're still outstanding players. Olli Mustonen and Andre Watts will demonstrate their artistry with works of two Viennese contemporaries. Mustonen plays Beethoven's Third Piano Concerto in Hamburg with Kirill Petrenko and the North German Radio Symphony. And Watts plays three pieces by Schubert in Fort Worth, Texas.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for seven days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Ludwig van Beethoven
    Six Variations on "Nel cor piu non mi sento" from Giovanni Paisiello's "La Molinara"
    Pianist Olli Mustonen
  • Ernest Chausson
    "Les papillions," Op. 2, No. 3
    Mezzo-soprano Susan Graham and pianist Malcolm Martineau
    Jordan Hall, Boston
  • Erik Satie
    "Gymnopedie No. 1"
    Pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet
    Kravis Center for the Performing Arts, West Palm Beach, Florida
  • Francois Couperin
    Prelude, "Siciliene,""La Tromba" and "Plainte" from "Pieces en concert"
    The Amernet String Quartet
    Theatre 4301, Scottsdale, Arizona
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
    Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 37
    Pianist Olli Mustonen with the North German Radio Symphony Orchestra and conductor Kirill Petrenko
    Laeiszhalle, Hamburg, Germany

hour 2

  • Franz Schubert
    Three Piano Pieces, D. 946
    Pianist Andre Watts
    Bass Performance Hall, Fort Worth, Texas
  • John Williams
    Theme from "Star Wars"
    The Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra with conductor John Wilson
    Dvorak Hall, Prague, Czech Republic
  • Stanley Myers
    Guitarist Ana Vidovic
    Spivey Hall, Morrow, Georgia
  • Franz Liszt
    Fourth movement from Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-flat
    Pianist Andre Watts with the New York Philharmonic and conductor Leonard Bernstein
  • Johannes Brahms
    "Variations on a Theme by Joseph Haydn," Op. 56a
    The Oslo Philharmonic with conductor Marek Janowski
    Oslo Concert Hall, Oslo, Norway
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.