Support Performance Today with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Performance Today homepage
Robert Schumann

April 9, 2008

The schumann cello concerto

Dmitri Shostakovich thought Robert Schumann's lone cello concerto to be a bit rough around the edges. So he cleaned it up with a new arrangement. We'll hear it performed by cellist Alexander Ivashkin at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam. He's joined by conductor Alexander Lazarev and the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic.

Today's Playlist

Performance Today audio is available for thirty days following broadcast.

hour 1

  • Robert Schumann
    Third movement from Fantasy Pieces, Op. 73
    Cellist Matt Haimovitz and pianist Itamar Golan
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Fourth movement from Sonata No. 2 in A Minor, BWV 1003
    Violinist Julia Fischer
    Weimar Hall, Weimar, Germany
  • John Sheppard
    "In manus tuas III"
    The Vox Vocal Ensemble with conductor George Steel
    Church of St. Mary the Virgin, New York City
  • "The Piano Puzzler"
    This week's contestant is Park Stickney from Cardiff, Wales
  • Robert Schumann
    Cello Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129
    Cellist Alexander Ivashkin with the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra and conductor Alexander Lazarev
    The Concertgebouw, Amsterdam

hour 2

  • Witold Lutoslawski
    Capriccio notturno ed Arioso from Concerto for Orchestra
    The Los Angeles Philharmonic with conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen
    Walt Disney Concert Hall, Los Angeles
  • George Frideric Handel
    Violinist Paolo Ciociola and cellist Davide Amadio
    The Modlin Center for the Arts, Richmond, Virginia
  • Gustav Holst
    "Venus,""Mercury" and "Jupiter" from "The Planets"
    The Los Angeles Philharmonic with conductor Leonard Slatkin
    Walt Disney Concert Hall, Los Angeles
  • Heitor Villa-Lobos
    "Legend of the Native"
    The Los Angeles Guitar Quartet
    Santa Barbara International Guitar Festival, Santa Barbara, California
  • Jean Sibelius
    "Valse triste," Op. 44, No. 1
    The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra with conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen
  • Richard Strauss
    Serenade in E-flat for Winds, Op. 7
    The Los Angeles Philharmonic with conductor Alan Gilbert
    Walt Disney Concert Hall, Los Angeles
Program Archive

Questions or Comments
Call 1-866-943-4450 or email us.